Skip to content

Painting in oils

July 18, 2014

I’ve been busy in my studio creating some new oil paintings. It’s not a medium I often work in although I love the strong, glowing colours. Patience is required with oils though…and in the meantime I’ve been painting the plant pots in my garden at Penny Lane Lodge.

“Wine Route Boland” – oil on canvas: 560mm x 400mm

This painting is inspired by the rich landscapes along the local wine routes, which have the most stunning colours, especially in autumn.

Now in the midst of the Cape winter, I have taken my inspiration from the stormy seas we have been experiencing.  Here’s the painting I finished yesterday.

“Sea Squall” – oil on boxed canvas: 1000mm x 500mm

You can see more of my paintings at my online gallery – Di White art online or if you in the neighbourhood, at my studio at the Penny Lane Gallery.

 

 

 

From → Art

One Comment
  1. Inese Poga Art Gallery permalink

    Just beautiful! I really regret I cannot use oils because I’ve become completely allergic to them. Nice works!

Leave a Reply

